Foxy Knoxy

On Friday, the court case of Amanda Knox (a.k.a. Foxy Knoxy) opened in Perugia, central Italy. The case is an intriguing one, and one that I am rapidly trying to get up to speed with. I fancied seeing Perugia anyway. They have good chocolate down there, apparently.

The case concerns the murder of British student Meredith Kercher in November 2007. Amanda Knox was her flatmate. She now stands accused of her murder, along with Raffaelle Sollecito, her former boyfriend. The suggestion is that the pair murdered Meredith in a drug-fuelled struggle, when she refused to participate in a group sex game.

You can see why the tabloids leapt on this case with such glee and why there has been such attrotious reporting about it.

I can’t say much more about the case, really, since it is all new to me and I have yet to go to Perugia (hopefully in the next few weeks). But there is one point I’d like to make.

It’s about the stories.

Oh yes, the stories.

Apparently, as the tabloids have been fond of pointing out, Amanda was fond of writing stories. Slightly disturbing stories, in light of what happened. For example, in one, she had the two main characters (brothers) discussing the rape of a young girl. For the tabloids, this makes Amanda criminally evil and, from my reading, they seem to have pronounced her guilty already.

I’m so glad nothing like this ever happened to me, because there is so many stories that I have written in my past that could incriminate me. About Sex. Drugs. And Rock ‘n’ Roll. And some pretty freaky Irvine Welsh type stories, too.

But this doesn’t mean I’m a crazy freak, and into all the stuff I write. They’re just stories, for Pete’s sake. Meant to make a point. But not an accurate reflection on reality.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Foxy Knoxy”

  1. Harry Rag Says:

    For anyone who is interested in the facts behind the media spin, and who cares to learn more about the victim of this terrible murder – Meredith Kercher – there is an excellent discussion board

    http://perugiamurderfile.freeforums.org/index.php

    as well as an interesting blog

    http://truejustice.org/ee/index.php

    These online resources are not for profit. Anyone can read and/or participate and people from around the world do. They have followed this case since last November, and are in no way related to Amanda Knox. Nor are they her friends

  2. blakerig Says:

    To this I might add one more blog which is also worth reading: http://perugia-shock.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

