A change

So, having spent over a year in Sudan, I have now changed location and moved to Italy.

This blog will keep going, but obviously be rather more focussed on my current country of residence rather than Sudan. I had wanted to stay in Africa for at least another year, but, alas, it wasn’t to be. I may go back there again one day, but for now Italy is the place I am keen to find out more about.

I’ve been looking for a quote this morning, but can’t seem to find the exact wording. I remember reading it somewhere, and think it was a journalist who said it. Something like: “The only thing that you need to understand about Italy is that it is impossible to understand anything.”

Like why all the shops throughout the country insist on closing during lunchtime, when normal people might like to pop out and do a bit of shopping.

Or why the post office doesn’t sell any envelopes, and often doesn’t have a postbox anywhere nearby – but at least, thankfully, does sell stamps.

Or why shops are so reluctant to give you a receipt – and yet you are in danger of being fined if you do not ask for one.

Or why not even native Italian speakers can understand articles in Italian newspapers.

Just some of the mysteries in this country that I hope to blog about in the future.

And, of course, there is the Man at the Top. Berlusconi. How did he get where he is today? Why is he still there? Why do many Italians seem to love him so much? And what will I think about him after a few months of writing about this country?

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “A change”

  1. notafloorsiter Says:

    im honestly gutted! your blog had inspired me to not only start my own journey back to sudan, but to see the beauty in my country and even start my own blog. you left at a time when things are about to get interesting..or u know something? haha anyway enjoy italy, florence is gorgeous. best wishes!

  2. blakerig Says:

    I did really want to stay in Sudan actually and miss it a lot! Yes, I’m sure things are going to be really interesting this year – and had hopes of spending another year writing about them. The ICC. The election. Preparation for a referendum. The John Granville trial. And many more story headlines that I can think of. But, alas, it wasn’t to be – though I hope to come back and some point later this year. Enjoy Sudan.

Leave a Reply

