Crossing Lines

This is the ICC as you’ve never seen it before. They’ve even got guns.

Whilst the ICC doubtless needs its profile around the world, and whilst Luis Moreno-Ocampo, the former prosecutor, might have fancied packing a .38 himself, I’m not totally convinced that this is the best publicity the ICC could have hoped for.

In fact, I’m decidedly unconvinced.

Crossing Lines is a fictional drama series about international justice, with apparently no connection to the ICC that I write daily about. It premiered last week on the NBC network in America.

The ICC needs countries like America to lend a hand at capturing fugitives that have still not been apprehended, and this means that the public has to get behind international justice.

But throwing out a wildly inaccurate dramatisation, particularly in a country where misunderstandings are already rife, does the cause no favours whatsoever.

How on Earth was this drama allowed to be made?

(I should add, at this point, that I contacted the German-based producers of this film and invited them to speak to me about it; but they declined the opportunity. They also refused to show me any further footage of the drama – and I’m still waiting for it to be screened in The Hague).

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Crossing Lines”

  1. William Says:

    Next you’ll be telling me that West Wing and Yes Minister weren’t real and that Jason Bourne and James Bond are made up characters. I think the clue, that may give it away, is when you say “fictional drama series”. None of the people who mistake this for a documentary are your key demographic or are likely to worry the powers that be in ICC. I suspect those people think that any publicity is good but to me this looks like an Mission Impossible clone (and a fun one at that).

    As for “How on Earth was this drama allowed to be made?” the answer to that question lies in the freedom of speech you have (ab?)used to write this blog stressing about the next big budget US TV show. Would you rather live in a world where this _could_ be stopped? When you watch it forget it (ab?)uses the ICC brand and just enjoy it for what it is: entertainment.

  2. blakerig Says:

    Fair points, William. And I’m sure people made the same criticism about Ian Fleming’s depiction of MI5 – which at the time of the book was really having its hey day – as I am about this depiction of the ICC. I’m a huge fan of free speach and on one hand can see the value of the show – raising the profile of the ICC and actually making the Americans take an interest in international justice. But I have huge doubts as to whether this misrepresentation will actually be to the benefit of the ICC. A dedicated team of ICC supporters are currently trying to get the “ICC” message to a sceptical US public, and I don’t think this film is likely to help. A number of internal justice supporters would agree with me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

